TopDrawerSoccer Facebook TopDrawerSoccer Twitter The 91st Minute RSS

Indiana men will repeat as national champs in 2013 because that’s how they roll

Written by Dill Pickle

Just so you know, Indiana’s national title triumph on Sunday was just the beginning … the beginning of history repeating itself. Go ahead and put the Hoosiers down for another College Cup in 2013.

I know what you’re thinking: but they were only a No. 16 seed! Lightning doesn’t strike twice! How am I supposed to trust the prediction of a guy named Dill Pickle!

All valid points. But so are these:


1. History. Of the seven previous national titles won by the Hoosiers, six of them were part of back-to-back efforts. Indiana turned the trick in 2003-04, 1998-1999 and 1982-83. Only in 1988 did they produce a one-and-done title effort. And how can we trust anything that happened in 1988? People were listening TO THIS back then. Yup. Do-over.


2. Family Tree. Lest we forget whose father was leading all those Hoosier championships of old – coach Todd Yeagley’s father, Jerry. Now that he’s added to the family legacy he’ll be liberated and ready to enjoy a run of his own. There’s just too much precedent for this not to happen.

See the final point after the jump

3. Youth. You do know that Eriq Zavaleta is just a sophomore, right? Indiana’s playmaker will be back at his post next season as will most of the team. The Hoosiers had very few seniors this season leaving very little doubt that they’re poised to be even better in 2013.

I know what you’re thinking: dude, you’re reaching … in your dreams.

To that, I will suggest you get out of my dreams and into my car.




Tags:  , , , ,
1 Comment
  • We here in Bloomington like to call this the #QuestForNine

Advanced Soccer Media
    1. About Us
    2. Terms and Conditions
    3. Privacy Policy
    4. Advertise with Us
    5. Jobs
    6. Contact Us
    7. NCAA Compliance
    1. 5855 Green Valley Circle, Ste. 303, Culver City, CA 90230
      © 2014 Advanced Sports Media, LLC. TeamRank™, Players to Watch™, and are trademarks Advanced Sports Media, LLC. All rights reserved.