2023 Women's Dl Postseason Awards

2023 Women's Dl Postseason Awards
by TopDrawerSoccer
December 13, 2023

A record-breaking women’s soccer season ended last week as Florida State became the fourth 21st-century team to pull off an undefeated season.

That also means TopDrawerSoccer releases its yearly awards with several factors coming into play, from conference awards to individual accomplishments and team success. It covers the duration of the season, from the first weekend until the national championship for the 2023 season.

The Player of the Year is Lexi Missimo of Texas, who had a breathtaking season of 26 goals and 20 assists in 24 appearances, adding up to 72 points, which led the nation and is the 15th most in NCAA history. Most importantly, those numbers contributed to team success, as the Longhorns won the Big-12 tournament for the third time in program history, were one win shy of the program record of 18, and reached the Round of 16 before losing to the eventual champions. The other stars in consideration were Brecken Mozingo, who did it all for the BYU offense; Eleanor Dale, who led the country with a jaw-dropping 28 goals; and Onyi Echegini, who led Florida State in goals and points.

Speaking of the Seminoles, the Freshman of the Year was undoubtedly Jordynn Dudley. In the most impressive debut season since Catarina Macario in 2017, the Forward scored 14 and assisted 9 to tie for the Florida State lead in points as the ACC side reeled off a dominant 22-0-1 record. From start to finish, the Georgia native was a marvel as she ended her campaign with a goal and assist in the national final. Others in the running were Samantha Courtwright of Texas Tech, a midfielder who was a first-team selection in the loaded Big-12; Savannah King, who seamlessly slid into the North Carolina back line; and Danielle Davis, as she led semi-finalist Clemson in minutes and provided several key assists.

Brian Pensky rounds out the major individual awards as Coach of the Year after guiding Florida State to a historically dominant season where the Seminoles finished unbeaten through 23 games and won every trophy available, scoring 75 goals and conceding 14 in a magical run.

Check out the full awards below.

2023 Women’s Dl Postseason Awards 

Player of the Year: Lexi Missimo, Texas 

Freshman of the Year: Jordynn Dudley, Florida State 

Coach of the Year: Brian Pensky, Florida State 

Best XI Teams

First Team 

F: Eleanor Dale (Nebraska), Brecken Mozingo (BYU), Jordynn Dudley (Florida State

M: Lexi Missimo (Texas), Onyi Echegini (Florida State), Jasmine Aikey (Stanford), Coriana Dyke (Penn State

D: Lauren Flynn (Florida State), Kennedy Wesley (Stanford), Eva Gaetino (Notre Dame

GK: Halle Mackiewicz (Clemson

Second Team 

F: Trinity Byars (Texas), Gianna Gourley (Grand Canyon), Sarah Schupansky (Pittsburgh

M: Taylor Huff (Florida State), Maya Doms (Stanford), Olivia Wade-Katoa (BYU), Justina Gaynor (Michigan State

D: Maycee Bell (North Carolina), Makenna Morris (Clemson), Lyndsey Heckel (Saint Louis

GK: Allie Augur (Georgetown)

Third Team 

F: Emily Gaebe (Saint Louis), Sarah Weber (Nebraska), Brittany Raphino (Brown

M: Croix Bethune (Georgia), Momo Nakao (Memphis), Allyson Sentnor (North Carolina), Bea Franklin (Arkansas

D: Lilly Reale (UCLA), Hannah Anderson (Texas Tech), Elise Evans (Stanford

GK: Cristina Roque (Florida State

Freshman Best XI Teams 

First Team 

F: Anna Hauer (Memphis), Jenna Tobia (Clemson), Nyah Rose (SMU

M: Samantha Courtwright (Texas Tech), Danielle Davis (Clemson), Isabella Najera (Michigan State), Shae Harvey (Stanford

D: Savannah King (North Carolina), Faith Leyba (Colorado), Clare Logan (Notre Dame

GK: Lynette Hernaez (BYU

Second Team 

F: Megan Hinnenkamp (Florida), Norah Jacomen (Butler), Maribel Flores (USC

M: Joy Okonye (Brown), Deborah Abiodun (Pittsburgh), Samantha James (Howard), Joelle Jung (Stanford

D: Kiera Staude (Georgia), Hailey Baumann (Wisconsin), Mia Bhuta (Stanford

GK: Ashlyn Dvorak (Montana)

Trending Videos
IMG Academy Top 150 Rankings
see full ranking:
Boys Girls