Text size

Canisius Falls in Season Opener

Published: August 23, 2013

The Canisius College women’s soccer team fell 3-2 at Cleveland State in its season opener Friday night. The Griffs rallied from two one-goal deficits, but were unable to answer the Vikings one last time.

Cleveland State broke the tie for the final time in the 70th minute after a foul inside the box led to a Vikings penalty kick. Vickie Havas beat senior goalkeeper Megan Tock in the upper right corner to secure the win for the Vikings (1-0-0).

After falling behind in the contest in just the second minute, Canisius (0-1-0) answered in the 25th minute, when senior Katie Griffin sent a through ball midfield to junior Mallory Illsley just outside the box. Illsley drew the keeper out and sent a cross to senior Brianna Smith who finished on the open net.

Smith’s goal was the 30th of her career and moved her into a tie for fourth place with Sylvia Kowalski on the all-time scoring list. Smith now occupies sixth place on the all-time points list as a result of the goal as well.

After the Vikings took a 2-1 lead at the beginning of the second half, the Blue and Gold rallied once again just six minutes later to tie the contest. This time the Griffs scored on a header by senior Kelly McMahon off a setup pass from sophomore Brittany Krause in the 53rd minute.

Tock recorded three saves and the Griffs managed to put 13 shots on net in the losing effort.

Three Canisius freshmen made their college debuts in the contest, as Bailey Jordan got the start, while Hannah Chesney and Callie Good came on as reserves.

The Griffs will open the home portion of their 2013 schedule on Sunday, Aug. 25, when the team hosts Youngstown State at the Demske Sports Complex. Game time is set for 1 p.m.

Advanced Soccer Media
    1. About Us
    2. Terms and Conditions
    3. Privacy Policy
    4. Advertise with Us
    5. Jobs
    6. Contact Us
    7. NCAA Compliance
    1. © 2021 Advanced Sports Media, LLC. TeamRank™, Players to Watch™, and TopDrawerSoccer.com are trademarks Advanced Sports Media, LLC. All rights reserved.