Academy Select Rosters Named

Academy Select Rosters Named
by U.S. Soccer
December 5, 2013

Four Development Academy Select rosters – two at the U-15/16 age group (1998-99) and two at the U-17/18 level (1996-97) have been named to compete against each other on Thursday, Dec. 12, at the 2013 U.S. Soccer Development Academy Winter Showcase in Lakewood Ranch, Fla.

The Academy Red and Blue Select teams for the U-15/16s kick off at 6 p.m. ET and the U-17/18 match begins at 8 p.m. ET at the Premier Sports Campus. Game updates will be provided on the Academy/YNT Twitter account @ussoccer_ynt.

The elite Academy players for all four rosters were selected by U.S. Soccer technical advisors, who will also be coaching the teams.

Among some of the noteworthy accomplishments, the U-17/18 Red Select Team features San Jose Earthquakes Academy goalkeeper James Marcinkowski, who helped the U.S. Under-18 Men’s National Team take second place at the Limoges Tournament in France in October. That Red Select squad also features Bethesda-Olney’s Jeremy Ebobisse, who is currently tied for second in goal scoring with 10 tallies in the U-17/18 age group.

A good portion of the Academy Select Blue U-17/18 team had been called up to U-18 MNT head coach Javier Perez’s 36-player camp in September: Real So Cal goalkeeper Justin Vom Steeg, Colorado Rapids defender Quentin Pearson, San Diego Surf defender Pablo Pelaez, FC Dallas forward Coy Craft, Crew Soccer Academy midfielder Benjamin Swanson and Houston Dynamo midfielder Christian Lucatero.

Roster additions or changes are possible heading into the Dec. 12 Academy Select games.

2013 Development Academy Winter Showcase Select Rosters:
Academy U-15/16 (1998-99) Red Select Team:
GOALKEEPERS (2): Andrew Verdi (Philadelphia Union), Seth Stiebel (St. Louis Scott Gallagher Missouri)
DEFENDERS (4): Fuki Goto (Solar Chelsea SC), Matthew Real (Philadelphia Union), Sean O’Hearn (PA Classics), Trey Vinson (D.C. United)
MIDFIELDERS (6): Theo O’Malley (Real Colorado), Alex Soto (NJSA 04), Danny Griffin (Oakwood Soccer Club), Josh Burnett (Players Development Academy), Sebastian Padua (Chicago Fire), Suniel Veerakone (Crew Soccer Academy Wolves)
FORWARDS (5): Devyn Etling (Crew Soccer Academy), Isaiah Young (Philadelphia Union), Ivan Gutierrez (Chivas USA), Eric Matzelevich (Bethesda-Olney), Nathaniel Adamolekun (Lonestar SC Academy)

Academy U-15/16 (1998-99) Blue Select Team:
GOALKEEPERS (2): Andrew Romig (Richmond Kickers), Gabriel Rosario (Carolina Rapids)
DEFENDERS (4): George Espina (Charlotte Soccer Academy), Jordi Avila (Kendall SC), Juan Riley (Weston FC), Miles Stray (Real Salt Lake AZ)
MIDFIELDERS (6): Alejandro Lopez (Santa Cruz Breakers), David Portugal (Chicago Fire), Wan Kuzain (St. Louis Scott Gallagher Metro), Bryant Huerta (Texans SC Houston), Orlando Lopez (Chivas USA), Sam Bacon (Richmond Strikers)
FORWARDS (4): Orrin Gaines (Lonestar SC Academy), Jaret Townsend (Real Colorado), Julian Hall (Chargers Soccer Club), Ethan Zubak (LA Galaxy)

Academy U-17/18 (1996-97) Red Select Team:
GOALKEEPERS (2): James Marcinkowski (San Jose Earthquakes), Christian Herrera (Real Salt Lake AZ)
DEFENDERS (4): Alexander Ramos (LA Galaxy), Willie Maddox (Vardar), Henry Martin (New York Red Bulls), Miles Robinson (FC Bolts Celtic)
MIDFIELDERS (5): Collin Fernandez (Chicago Fire), Jackson Yueill (Minnesota Thunder Academy), Justin Stinson (St. Louis Scott Gallagher Missouri), Dominic Jensen (Capital Area RailHawks Academy – CASL), Abuchi Obinwa (Chicago Magic PSG)
FORWARDS (5): Brendan Constantine (Oakwood Soccer Club), Eddie Venta-Yepes (New England Revolution), Ethan Lochner (New York Red Bulls), Jeremy Ebobisse (Bethesda-Olney), Ryan Sierakowski (Sockers FC)

Academy U-17/18 (1996-97) Blue Select Team:
GOALKEEPERS (2): Bennett Sneddon (LA Galaxy), Justin Vom Steeg (Real So Cal)
DEFENDERS (5): Austin Maloney (PA Classics), Mauricio Pineda (Chicago Fire), Nigel Blackwood (Georgia United), Pablo Pelaez (San Diego Surf), Quentin Pearson (Colorado Rapids)
MIDFIELDERS (5): Cameron Lindley (Indiana Fire Academy), Christian Lucatero (Houston Dynamo), Amir Bashti (San Jose Earthquakes), Benjamin Swanson (Crew Soccer Academy), Tommy Madden (Bethesda-Olney)
FORWARDS (5): Coy Craft (FC Dallas), Jonathan Leal (San Diego Surf), Jorge Ruiz (LA Galaxy), Kendall Stork (Chicago Magic PSG), Nash Popovic (Vardar)

Trending Videos
IMG Top 150 Rankings
see full ranking:
Boys Girls

Club Rankings HQ