ECNL Boys Names Conference Cup Best XI

ECNL Boys Names Conference Cup Best XI
August 9, 2023
Players featured in this article:
Otu Bisong |  2025
MF | DC United
GK | West Coast Football Club
D | Pac Northwest SC
D | North Carolina FC Youth
MF | Pittsburgh Riverhounds
Noe Morales |  2025
MF | Legends FC
MF | Dynamo
GK | Eastside FC
D | Real So Cal
Jose Romero |  2025
F | Energy FC
MF | Charlotte Independence SC
Jude Stone |  2025
MF | Santa Rosa
D | Solar SC

Following two days of high level competition between 90 of the top ECNL Boys athletes from around the country at the ECNL Boys Conference Cup, four teams remained standing with an opportunity to lift the inaugural ECNL Boys Conference Cup trophy at the Chula Vista Elite Athlete Training Center in California.

Teams Northeast, Northwest, Southwest, and Central advanced as the top four teams out of group play and faced off in a four team bracket for the Conference Cup Championship.

In the first semifinal game, the Northeast and Northwest teams matched up for a spot in the championship game.

It was an even battle between the two sides, but the Northwest grabbed the 1-0 lead in the second half from a left footed shot at the top of the box that was tucked away into the corner. With time winding down though, the Northeast found the answer and leveled things up at 1-1 to send the game into penalty kicks.

In penalties, goalkeeper Oliver Nybonn (Eastside FC) made two key saves and Alexis Cervantes (MVLA) fired home the game winning penalty in the fifth round of kicks to send the Northwest team into the championship game.

In the second semifinal, the Southwest and Central battled it out for the remaining spot in the championship game.

Just like the first semifinal, the second was tightly contested throughout, but the Central managed to claw their way into the final off a late goal from a corner kick.

After two days of group play and two semifinals it came down to the Northwest and the Central for the Conference Cup Championship.

In the first half, the Central cashed in an opportunity from a set piece when Aidan Morrison (Albion Hurricanes FC) fired home a shot from just outside the box to put the Central on top 1-0.

The Northwest battled in the second half, but unfortunately had to play a man down throughout the entirety of the half and were unable to find the game tying goal despite some late attempts.

In the end, the Central held onto their 1-0 advantage and claimed the inaugural Conference Cup Championship trophy.

After the game, Jareth Mejia (DKSC) was awarded Man of the Match honors and the Best XI from the entirety of the week were recognized for their performances.

The Best XI was selected by the technical staff at the ECNL Boys Conference Cup and is listed below.

ECNL Boys Conference Cup Best XI

Dillan Danks (West Coast FC)

Xavier Holloway (NCFC Youth Academy)

Reid Valentine (Solar SC)

Samahj Oyewo (LAFC So Cal)

Gabe Fernandez (Pacific NW)

Isaac Scheer (Charlotte Independence Pro)

Jude Stone (Santa Rosa United)

Jose Romero (Oklahoma Energy FC)

Noe Morales (Legends FC)

Pablo Linzoain (Pittsburgh Riverhounds)

Otu Bisong (VDA)

Trending Videos
IMG Academy Top 200/150 Rankings
see full ranking:
Boys Girls