Text size

Peay names 36-player roster for U14 camp

Article Written by U.S. Soccer
Published: August 16, 2017

U.S. Under-14 Boys’ National Team head coach Clint Peay has gathered a 36-player group for the team’s second camp of 2017, and third since the U-14 cycle of the National Development Program started in 2016, to be held in Portland, Ore from Aug. 13-20.

“In the age group, it’s important to have a good base of players in our pool to look at for the future,” Peay said. “For this camp, the idea is to open it up to a bunch of new players who, maybe haven’t had a chance, but have excelled on the field (with their clubs) to give them a chance, to play in an environment like this. Out of the 36 players, 33 have never been into a U.S. Youth National Team camp before. We are looking to expand the U-14 player pool by looking at some new players to see where they are.”

During the camp, the U-14 BNT will play an intrasquad match as well as a pair of friendlies against Portland Timbers and Seattle Sounders Development Academy teams, a mix of 2002 and 2003 birth year players.

The U-14’s most recent camp took place in Croatia last May where they went 3-1-0 in a quadruplet of friendlies, defeating local Croatian clubs Dinamo Zagreb U-15 (4-0) and Bosnia and Herzegovina U-15 (2-1), before splitting two against the Croatia U-14 BNT (1-3; 2-1).

Thirty-two players from the group are currently registered with a Development Academy club for the 2017-18 season, which kicks off its 11th season on Sept. 2.

Roster by Position:
GOALKEEPERS (4): Mitchell Budler (Shattuck-St. Mary's; Lincoln, Neb.), Nickolas Cardona (New England Revolution; Roxbury, Mass.), Lucas Hatsios (Carolina Rapids; Statesville, N.C.), Gavin Krenecki (Sacramento Republic FC; Fair Oaks, Calif.)
DEFENDERS (12): Mateo Acosta (FC United; Skokie, Ill.), Diego Alvarado (Chicago Fire; Addison, Ill.), Owen Barber (Atlanta United FC; Clinton, Miss.), Dominic Briones (Columbus Crew SC; Pickerington, Ohio), Maxwell Brown (Internationals SC; Aurora, Ohio), Cesar Carbajal (Colorado Rapids; Denver, Colo.), Abedi Godefroid (Sereno SC; Phoenix, Ariz.), Alexsander Jovel (DC United; Silver Spring, Md.), David Mysiuk (Chicago Fire; Bourbonnais, Ill.), Andre Ramos (LA Galaxy; Los Angeles, Calif.), Gavin Tabije (New York Red Bulls; Matawan, N.J.), Dominic Vegaalban (Sacramento Republic FC; Rocklin, Calif.)
MIDFIELDERS (10): Alejandro Alvarado (LA Galaxy; Los Angeles, Calif.), Jacob Bergin (Cleveland United; Rocky River, Ohio), Henry Cordova (Carolina Rapids; Statesville, N.C.), Alejandro Herrera (Real Colorado; Highlands Ranch, Colo.), Austen Herring (Southampton FC; Kidlington, U.K.), Dante Huckaby (Philadelphia Union; Morgantown W. Va.), Anthony Miron (Real So Cal; Pacoima, Calif.), Jay Portela (Weston FC; Miami, Fla.), Michael Sherlock (San Diego Surf; San Diego, Calif.), Kai Walsh (San Diego Surf; San Diego, Calif.)
FORWARDS (10): Brandon Bryant (Orlando City SC; Fort Walton Beach, Fla.), Caden Clark (Minnesota Thunder Academy; Medina, Minn.), Lorenzo DiMercurio (Weston FC; Biscayne Park, Fla.), Edward Mendy (Charlotte Soccer Academy; Charlotte, N.C.), Selmir Miscic (Philadelphia Union; Royersford, Pa.), Sebastian Nava (LA Galaxy; Wilmington, Calif.), Ricardo Pepi (FC Dallas; McKinney, Texas), Anthony Sorenson (Crew Wolves; Ann Arbor, Mich.), Aidan Wolf (Columbus Crew SC; Cleveland Heights, Ohio), Joseph Zalinsky (New York Red Bulls; Brick, N.J.)    

Related Topics: Youth National Teams
Advanced Soccer Media
    1. About Us
    2. Terms and Conditions
    3. Privacy Policy
    4. Advertise with Us
    5. Jobs
    6. Contact Us
    7. NCAA Compliance
    1. TopDrawerSoccer.com, 5855 Green Valley Circle, Ste. 303, Culver City, CA 90230
      © 2020 Advanced Sports Media, LLC. TeamRank™, Players to Watch™, and TopDrawerSoccer.com are trademarks Advanced Sports Media, LLC. All rights reserved.