Text size

The timeline of the Development Academy

Article Written by Sheldon Shealer
Published: April 30, 2020

Earlier this month, the U.S. Soccer Federation announced the termination of the Development Academy.

TDS takes a look back at the past 13 seasons and the timeline of the DA during its existence.

Development Academy Timeline

2007-08: Development Academy launches with 125 boys teams in two age groups - U15/16 and U17/18.

Baltimore Bays Chelsea (U17/18) and Carmel United SC (U15/16) are the inaugural champions.

2008-09: Development Academy grows to 148 teams.

Champions — Carmel United SC (U17/18) and Derby County Wolves (U15/16) are crowned champions. 

2009-10: Development Academy grows to 154 teams.

Champions — Vardar SC Freiburg (U17/18) and Chicago Fire Academy (U15/16).

2010-11: Development Academy grows to 156 teams.

Champions — Pateadores Academy (U17/18) and Los Angeles Galaxy (U15/16). 

2011-12: Development Academy remains at 156 teams.

Champions — FC Dallas (U17/18) and New York Red Bulls (U15/16).

2012-13: Development Academy grows to 160 teams.

Champions — New York Red Bulls (U17/18) and Real Salt Lake-AZ (U15/16). 

2013-14: Development Academy expands to include U13/14 age group and the number of total teams reaches 244.

Champions — PDA (U17/18) and Los Angeles Galaxy (U15/16). 

2014-15: Development Academy fields 243 teams across the U13/14, U15/16 and U17/18 age groups.

Champions — Chicago Fire Academy (U17/18) and FC Dallas DA (U15/16). 

2015-16: Development Academy fields 242 teams across the U13/14, U15/16 and U17/18 age groups.

Champions — FC Dallas (U17/18) and FC Dallas (U15/16).

2016-17: Development Academy adds U12 division and splits U13/14 into single age groups for U13 and U14 and fields a total of 461 teams.

Champions — Texans SC Houston (U17/18) and Atlanta United FC (U15/16).

2017-18: Development Academy launches a girls league after 10 years of being exclusively a boys league. The girls league has 276 teams from 69 clubs across four age groups - U14, U15, U16/17 and U18/19. In addition, the DA adds a U15 boys single-age division and rebrands the older groups to U16/17 and U18/19. Between the boys and girls leagues, there are 890 DA teams.

Champions — Boys: New York City FC (U18/19) and Seattle Sounders DA (U16/17); Girls: LAFC Slammers (U18/19), Real Colorado (U16/17), FC Dallas (U15).

2018-19: Development Academy ceases the U12 program at the end of the 2018-19 season.

Champions — Boys: New York City FC (U18/19) and Solar SC (U16/17); Girls: Midwest United FC (U18/19), Solar SC (U16/17), San Jose Earthquakes (U15).

2019-20: The 13th season of the Development Academy kicks off with 826 teams.

March 8, 2020: Ends up being the final day of DA play, and in the last scheduled contest Real Salt Lake-AZ defeated Murrieta Surf SC 3-1 in a boys U14 match.

March 12, 2020: U.S. Soccer announces the suspension of all regular season matches through April and cancels its Spring Cup events due to the coronavirus outbreak.

April 15, 2020: U.S. Soccer announces that it will end the operation of the Development Academy, effective immediately.

Related Topics: Development Academy
Advanced Soccer Media
    1. About Us
    2. Terms and Conditions
    3. Privacy Policy
    4. Advertise with Us
    5. Jobs
    6. Contact Us
    7. NCAA Compliance
    1. TopDrawerSoccer.com, 5855 Green Valley Circle, Ste. 303, Culver City, CA 90230
      © 2020 Advanced Sports Media, LLC. TeamRank™, Players to Watch™, and TopDrawerSoccer.com are trademarks Advanced Sports Media, LLC. All rights reserved.