Text size

U17 MNT names 20-man roster for friendlies

Article Written by U.S. Soccer
Published: September 7, 2012

U.S. Under-17 Men’s National Team head coach Richie Williams has named a 20-player roster for the team’s upcoming matches against U.S. Soccer Development Academy U-17/18 teams St. Louis Scott Gallagher Missouri and Crew Soccer Academy.

The U-17 MNT will play SLSG Missouri on Sept. 8 at 7 p.m. CT at Dennis P. Long Stadium’s recently upgraded main field at Soccer Park in Fenton, Mo. SLSG Missouri’s U-15/16 team finished as runner-up at the 2011-12 Academy Finals Week in Houston, losing to the New York Red Bulls 1-0 in the championship match. On Sept. 10, the day before the U.S. Men’s National Team faces Jamaica in a 2014 World Cup Qualifying match at Columbus Crew Stadium, the U-17 MNT squares off against Crew Soccer Academy at 6 p.m. CT at Jesse Owens Memorial Stadium on the campus of Ohio State University.

All 20 players on the roster were earlier announced as part of a larger, 31-player group for the fall semester of the U-17 Residency Program in Bradenton, Fla.

Only two players on the roster were not born in 1996 – defender Peter Schropp and midfielder Ben Swanson were born in 1997.

15 players are currently registered with teams in the Development Academy for the upcoming season, including three members from last season’s U-15/16 champion New York Red Bulls squad – goalkeeper Evan Louro, midfielder Christopher Lema and forward Wesley Wade.

The 2012-13 Development Academy season, the Academy’s sixth year, kicks off in earnest the weekend of Sept. 8-9 .

U-17 MNT Roster by Position:
GOALKEEPERS (2): Jefferson Caldwell (NC Fusion; Todd, N.C.), Evan Louro (New York Red Bulls; South River, N.J.)
DEFENDERS (7): Adonis Amaya (Chivas USA; Westminster, Calif.), Bryce Cregan (PA Classics; Dallastown, Pa.), Conor Donovan (NC Alliance; Fuquay Varina, N.C.), Elijah Martin (Cal Odyssey; Fresno, Calif.), Jorge Miranda (LA Galaxy; Van Nuys, Calif.), Peter Schropp (Omaha FC; Omaha, Neb.), Tyler Turner (South Central Premier; West Haven, Conn.)
MIDFIELDERS (6): Junior Flores (McLean Youth Soccer; Manassas Park, Va.), Angel Heredia (San Jose Earthquakes; San Jose, Calif.), Christopher Lema (New York Red Bulls; Ridgefield, N.J.), Shaquell Moore (Cobb FC; Powder Springs, Ga.), Rolando Muñoz (LA Galaxy; Rancho Cucamonga, Calif.), Ben Swanson (Crew Soccer Academy; Grove City, Ohio)
FORWARDS (5): Bradford Jamieson (Chivas USA; Los Angeles, Calif.), Rubio Rubin (Portland Timbers; Beaverton, Ore.), Ahinga Selemani (CSA Wolves; Ann Arbor, Mich.), Wesley Wade (New York Red Bulls; South Orange, N.J.), Alan Winn (Solar Chelsea FC; Garland, Texas) 

Advanced Soccer Media
    1. About Us
    2. Terms and Conditions
    3. Privacy Policy
    4. Advertise with Us
    5. Jobs
    6. Contact Us
    7. NCAA Compliance
    1. © 2021 Advanced Sports Media, LLC. TeamRank™, Players to Watch™, and TopDrawerSoccer.com are trademarks Advanced Sports Media, LLC. All rights reserved.