Text size

U19 MNT roster named for Copa de Athletico

Article Written by U.S. Soccer
Published: January 25, 2016

U.S. Under-19 head coach Brad Friedel has named a 23-player roster for the Copa de Athletico tournament in Canary Islands, Spain, the team’s first tournament of 2016.

The competition runs from Jan. 27- Feb. 6. This will be the first tournament for Friedel since being named head coach of the U-19 team earlier this month.

The call-up will be the first Youth National Team involvement for 10 players: John Denis, Benjamin Hale, Simon Lekressner, David Longo, Djordje Mihailovic, Hector Montalvo, Edwin Munjoma, Paxton Pomykal, Grant Robinson and Ethan Zubak. Every player on the roster is currently registered with a U.S. Soccer Development Academy team.

All players on the roster were born in ’98 and could potentially earn a spot on the U.S. U-20 squad that will play in the 2017 CONCACAF U-20 Championship in Nicaragua with the aim of gaining a berth for the 2017 FIFA U-20 World Cup in South Korea.

U-19 MNT Copa de Atlantico Tournament Schedule:
Feb. 2 - 1:30 p.m. ET

U.S. U-19 MNT vs. Spain
Municipal Maspalomas; Las Palmas, Spain

Feb. 3 - 11 a.m. ET
U.S. U-19 MNT vs. France
Campo Alfonso Silva; Las Palmas, Spain

Feb. 5 - 11 a.m. ET
U.S. U-19 MNT vs. Canary Islands
Campo Alfonso Silva; Las Palmas, Spain

Roster by Position:
GOALKEEPERS (3): Benjamin Hale (FC Dallas; Frisco, Texas), William Pulisic (Richmond United; Mechaniscville, Va.), Kevin Silva (PDA; Bethlehem, Pa.)
DEFENDERS (8): Reggie Cannon (FC Dallas; Grapevine, Texas), Tanner Dieterich (RSL Arizona; Nashville, Tenn.), David Longo (Weston FC; Weston, Fla.), Hector Montalvo (FC Dallas; Frisco, Texas), Edwin Munjoma (FC Dallas), John Nelson (Internationals Soccer Club; Medina, Ohio), Grant Robinson (DC United), Auston Trusty (Philadelphia Union; Media, Pa.)
MIDFIELDERS (9): Eric Calvillo (Real SoCal; Palmdale, Calif.), Pierre Da Silva (Orlando City SC; Port Chester, N.Y.), John Denis (Beachside SC; Yorktown Heights, N.Y.), McKinze Gaines II (Lonestar SC; Austin Texas), David Loera (Orlando City SC; Orlando, Fla.), Terrell Lowe (Portland Timbers; Hillsboro, Ore.), Weston McKinnie (FC Dallas; Little Elm, Texas), Djordje Mihailovic (Chicago Fire; Lemont, Ill.), Paxton Pomykal (FC Dallas; Highland Village, Texas)
FORWARDS (3): Simon Lekressner (Crossfire Premier; Bellevue, Wash.), Brian Saramago (New York Red Bulls; Garden City Park, N.Y.), Ethan Zubak (LA Galaxy; Los Angeles, Calif.)

Advanced Soccer Media
    1. About Us
    2. Terms and Conditions
    3. Privacy Policy
    4. Advertise with Us
    5. Jobs
    6. Contact Us
    7. NCAA Compliance
    1. TopDrawerSoccer.com, 5855 Green Valley Circle, Ste. 303, Culver City, CA 90230
      © 2020 Advanced Sports Media, LLC. TeamRank™, Players to Watch™, and TopDrawerSoccer.com are trademarks Advanced Sports Media, LLC. All rights reserved.