Text size

U.S. U15 GNT wins CONCACAF Championship

Article Written by J.R. Eskilson
Published: August 21, 2016

The U.S. U15 GNT is the 2016 CONCACAF U15 Champions. 

The USA defeated Canada 2-0 on Sunday in the final from the event in Orlando, Florida. It was the second running of the tournament. Canada won the event in 2014. The USA did not compete in the inaugural edition.  

Samantha Meza (Dallas Kicks) and Kalyssa Van Zanten (Eclipse Select SC) scored the goals in the championship game. Ruth Jones (Charlotte Soccer Academy) recorded the shutout in goal. Jones was awarded the Golden Glove as the best goalkeeper at the event. 

The U.S. finished the event with a perfect 7-0 record. The U.S. shut out all seven opponents and scored 49 goals. Gabrielle Robinson (Braddock Road SC), Payton Linnehan (FC Stars of Massachusetts), and Canada’s Jordyn Huitema (Whitecaps) finished as the top scorers at the event with eight goals each. Linnehan was award the Golden Boot. Mia Fishel (San Diego Surf) and Van Zanten each ended the event with seven goals. Fishel earned the Golden Ball as the best player at the event. 

The U.S. started the tournament in thunderous fashion with a 22-0 win over Trinidad and Tobago. The U.S. attack slowed down after the opening triumph with only 1-0 wins over Mexico and Haiti in the next two games, but the U.S. forwards warmed up again at the end of pool play with a 6-0 victory over Dominic Republic. The dynamic attack then rolled to a 12-0 win over Bermuda in the Quarterfinal. A 5-0 win over Costa Rica in the semifinal put the U.S. into the final on Sunday. 

The title in the regional event marks an impressive showing for the 2001 age group, which is gearing up for the 2018 U17 World Cup. The talented 2001 age group also includes current U.S. U17 Women’s National Team regulars Jordan Canniff, Kennedy Wesley, Kate Wiesner, and Lia Godfrey

U.S. U15 GNT Starting XI vs. Canada: Ruth Jones (Charlotte Soccer Academy); Talia DellaPeruta (Tophat SC), Leah Scarpelli (Match Fit Academy), Makenna Morris (Bethesda SC), Natalia Staude (Tophat SC); Croix Bethune (Concorde Fire), Gabrielle Robinson (Braddock Road SC), Hollyn Torres (FC Dallas); Samantha Meza (Dallas Kicks), Kalyssa Van Zanten (Eclipse Select SC), Mia Fishel (San Diego Surf)

Advanced Soccer Media
    1. About Us
    2. Terms and Conditions
    3. Privacy Policy
    4. Advertise with Us
    5. Jobs
    6. Contact Us
    7. NCAA Compliance
    1. © 2021 Advanced Sports Media, LLC. TeamRank™, Players to Watch™, and TopDrawerSoccer.com are trademarks Advanced Sports Media, LLC. All rights reserved.