2021 Women's DI Postseason awards

2021 Women's DI Postseason awards
by TopDrawerSoccer
December 14, 2021

The 2021 women’s Division I season wrapped up last week, with Florida State finishing as the national champions.

As is tradition, TopDrawerSoccer unveils its 2021 postseason awards, highlighting some of the top players in the current season. Taking into consideration conference awards, postseason play, team performance and much more, the awards try to recognize some of the best players in the fall season.

BYU star Mikayla Colohan lands the Player of the Year nod after leading the Cougars to a runner-up finish in the national title game. She scored 20 goals and had 16 assists in her final campaign in Provo, capping off a majestic career. According to games measured by InStat, she created 51 chances, one of the highest marks of any player. She led the nation’s top attack, scoring more than three goals per game. Colohan beat out WCC foe Kelsey Turnbow (Santa Clara) and Jaelin Howell (Florida State) for the honor.

Freshman of the Year goes to Duke forward Michelle Cooper. Edging out a talented field that included Riley Tiernan (Rutgers), Alexis Missimo (Texas), Trinity Byars (Texas), Lilly Reale (UCLA) and Taylor Huff (Tennessee), Cooper helped the Blue Devils reach the quarterfinals of this year’s NCAA tournament. Named the ACC Freshman of the Year, the Michigan native scored 12 goals and had 5 assists for the Blue Devils this fall. Joining Duke out of IMG Academy, she hit the ground running in Durham this season.

Final individual award of the fall season goes to Mark Krikorian, named the coach of the year. Leading Florida State to a 22-1-2 record, the longtime coach guided FSU to the ACC and NCAA tournament titles. With a second national championship in four seasons, and third overall, Krikorian has proven his ability to win on a consistent basis.

Check out the full awards below.

2021 Women’s DI Postseason Awards

Player of the Year: Mikayla Colohan, BYU

Freshman of the Year: Michelle Cooper, Duke

Coach of the Year: Mark Krikorian, Florida State

Best XI Teams

First Team

F: Kelsey Turnbow (Santa Clara), Anna Podojil (Arkansas), Miri Taylor (Hofstra)

M: Mikayla Colohan (BYU), Frankie Tagliaferri (Rutgers), Jaelin Howell (Florida State), Croix Bethune (USC)

D: Alia Martin (Michigan), Brandi Peterson (TCU), Emily Madril (Florida State)

GK: Ruthie Jones (Duke)

Second Team

F: Cameron Tucker (BYU), Diana Ordonez (Virginia), Messiah Bright (TCU)

M: Parker Goins (Arkansas), Sophie Jones (Duke), Sydny Nasello (South Florida), Tess Boade (Duke)

D: Alexis Loera (Santa Clara), Wrenne French (Tennessee), Gabby Provenzano (Rutgers)

GK: Cristina Roque (Florida State)

Third Team

F: Mia Fishel (UCLA), Brittany Raphino (Brown), Sammi Fisher (Notre Dame)

M: Lia Godfrey (Virginia), Julia Grosso (Texas), Maya Doms (Stanford), Sam Coffey (Penn State)

D: Lauren Flynn (Florida State), Naomi Girma (Stanford), Sydney Cummings (Georgetown)

GK: Ashley Orkus (Mississippi)

Freshman Best XI Teams

First Team

F: Michelle Cooper (Duke), Trinity Byars (Texas), Riley Tiernan (Rutgers)

M: Alexis Missimo (Texas), Taylor Huff (Tennessee), Hannah Bebar (Harvard), Korbin Albert (Notre Dame)

D: Lilly Reale (UCLA), Jade Rose (Harvard), Kassidy Banks (Rutgers)

GK: Nadia Cooper (Washington State)

Second Team

F: Dilary Heredia-Beltran (West Virginia), Simone Jackson (USC), Emily Colton (North Carolina)

M: Andrea Kitahata (Stanford), Nikayla Small (Wake Forest), Ella Rogers (Xavier), Jordan Fusco (Tennessee)

D: Aidan McConnell (Wisconsin), Macy Blackburn (Texas Tech), Brooklyn Courtnall (USC)

GK: Jamie Gerstenberg (Indiana)

Trending Videos
IMG Academy Top 150 Rankings
see full ranking:
Boys Girls