No Top 25 games today - Click to view all scores
Text size

Braffet named offensive player of the year...

Published: November 4, 2011

ROCHESTER, MICH. - Senior forward Kayla Braffet was named The Summit League's Offensive Player of the Year, leading the way for seven SDSU selections...

Braffet tied for the team lead in points with 15 on five goals, two of which were game-winning goals, and a team-high five assists. Braffet attempted 72 shots with 35 shots on goal. This season, Braffet tied the SDSU record for assist scoring in a career with 18 assists.

Four SDSU seniors made the all-league first team. In addition to Braffet, midfielder Cori Bonte, defenseman Kelli Herman and goalkeeper Kat Donovan earned first team honors.

Senior forward Kelsey Ferguson and juniors defender Stéphanie Bérubé and forward Christa Nyblom earned second team honors.

The seven selections between the first and second teams are the most for any Summit League team this season.

The complete teams are listed below.

The full release is available on The Summit League website.

A photo gallery from the banquet is available on the Oakland University athletics website.

2011 All-Summit League Women's Soccer Teams
First Team
Taylor Bare, UMKC, So., F

Cori Bonte, South Dakota State, Sr., M
Julianna Boyle, Oakland, So., M
Kayla Braffet, South Dakota State, Sr., F
Kat Donovan, South Dakota State, Sr., GK
Maria Grados, Oral Roberts, Sr., M
Kelli Herman, South Dakota State, Sr., D
Abbey Moenkedick, North Dakota State, Sr., D
Meghan Reynolds, Oakland, So., F
Serena San Cartier, Oakland, So., F
Kara Weber, Oakland, Jr., D

Second Team
Margaret Allgeier, IUPUI, Sr., D

Kalani Bertsch, North Dakota State, Sr., GK
Stéphanie Bérubé, South Dakota State, Jr., D
Stacey Brinkman, Southern Utah, Jr., F
Holly Christian, North Dakota State, Jr., M
Nicole DeLuca, Oakland, Jr., M
Morgan DeMike, North Dakota State, Sr., F
Kelsey Ferguson, South Dakota State, Sr., F
Christa Nyblom, South Dakota State, Jr., M
Tara O'Toole, IPFW, Sr., F
Sarah Todd, UMKC, Fr., D

Freshmen Team
Kirsten Anthony, Southern Utah, Fr., M

Makenna Cameron, South Dakota, Fr., M
Helen Erb, Oral Roberts, Fr., GK
Taylor Heidorn, IUPUI, Fr., F
Kyla Kellermann, Oakland, Fr., F
Anisha Kinnarath, North Dakota State, Fr., F
Shelbi Lousch, Oral Roberts, Fr., M
Erin Ring, Oakland, Fr., M
Taylor Stainbrook, North Dakota State, Fr., D
Katrina Stencel, Oakland, Fr., D
Sarah Todd, UMKC, Fr., D

Offensive Player of the Year
Kayla Braffet, South Dakota State

Defensive Player of the Year
Abbey Moenkedick, North Dakota State

Freshman of the Year
Taylor Heidorn, IUPUI

Coach of the Year
Chris Cissell, UMKC

Advanced Soccer Media
    1. About Us
    2. Terms and Conditions
    3. Privacy Policy
    4. Advertise with Us
    5. Jobs
    6. Contact Us
    7. NCAA Compliance
    1., 5855 Green Valley Circle, Ste. 303, Culver City, CA 90230
      © 2019 Advanced Sports Media, LLC. TeamRank™, Players to Watch™, and are trademarks Advanced Sports Media, LLC. All rights reserved.