Text size

Indiana Runs Rampant in 6-0 Victory Over Dayton

Published: September 4, 2011

 The Indiana Hoosiers (2-0-1) were unstoppable in a 6-0 win against the Dayton Flyers (0-3-0) thanks to two goals from Blake Wise as well as one each from Eriq Zavaleta, Chris Estridge, Jacob Bushue, and Nikita Kotlov.

 “It was a great win today, putting six (goals) in the back of the net,” said head coach Todd Yeagley. “Our players were excited to get that second win of the weekend, and more importantly win the Classic.

 “It was a good overall performance. A lot of players played well. Our intensity was good and we were sharp in every phase. And I know we can still play better, which is a great sign.”

 The victory gives Indiana its first adidas/IU Credit Union Classic tournament title since 2005.

 It didn’t take long for the home side to open the scoring after neat interplay between Jamie Vollmer and Estridge. Vollmer held the ball up well at the top of the box, allowing Estridge to make a darting run from his left back position and latch onto the through ball, beating Dayton goalkeeper Alec Storm from eight yards with sheer power to make it 1-0 in the 11th minute.

 It was Estridge’s first goal for the Hoosiers after transferring from Wake Forest last year, and Indiana’s newest supporter section, the Hoosier Army, led the crowd of 2,661 in wild celebration.

 The Hoosiers would double their lead in the 27th on a corner kick from Harrison Petts. The midfielder, a constant threat all game, drove the ball towards the penalty spot where it bounced off senior defender Tommy Meyer, falling perfectly for Bushue to volley it into the back of the net from 10 yards out for his first career collegiate goal.

 The Hoosiers were growing in confidence and needed only three minutes to add another goal. Meyer, whose distribution throughout the game helped Indiana spread play all over the field, sent a long ball to Petts, who controlled it along the right sideline. He waited for play to develop, finding recent substitute Blake Wise at the top of the area, who received the pass and cut inside to his left foot, bending a beautiful shot into the bottom left corner for his first collegiate goal to bring the score to 3-0.

 Indiana came into the matchup knowing that a win or a tie would be sufficient for its first tournament title in six years, and went in at halftime with a comfortable lead.

 The Hoosiers came out hungry for more after the break, with Zavaleta nearly adding a fourth in the 46th minute after beating three defenders, only to see his shot deflected wide.

 He would get his second of the season and the team’s fourth of the game in the 66th minute, receiving a pass from sophomore A.J. Corrado and cutting from left to right inside the box, firing into the bottom left corner past Storm.

 Indiana made it 5-0 only a minute later after some intricate interplay along the left side. Corrado played provider again, running onto a through ball from Wise and drawing Storm out of his goal to find Kotlov for a simple tap-in into the empty net.

 Wise would get his second goal of the game in the 70th minute as the Hoosiers looked to turn on the style. Zavaleta was quickest to react to a loose ball on the right side of the box, back heeling it to a wide-open Wise on the far side whose first time finish made it six for the home side to wrap up the scoring.

 It was the first time the Hoosiers had scored that many since Oct. 19, 2005 vs. Butler, also setting a record for goals scored in a game for the tournament, which is now in its 29th edition.

 Indiana will take on Bucknell in the first game of the Mike Berticelli Memorial Tournament at 5 p.m. on Friday, September 9, on the campus of Notre Dame in South Bend.

Advanced Soccer Media
    1. About Us
    2. Terms and Conditions
    3. Privacy Policy
    4. Advertise with Us
    5. Jobs
    6. Contact Us
    7. NCAA Compliance
    1. TopDrawerSoccer.com, 5855 Green Valley Circle, Ste. 303, Culver City, CA 90230
      © 2020 Advanced Sports Media, LLC. TeamRank™, Players to Watch™, and TopDrawerSoccer.com are trademarks Advanced Sports Media, LLC. All rights reserved.