Text size

Marauders Back in Title Game for Third Time in Four Years

Published: November 4, 2011

(4) Bloomsburg (7-8-2) at (2) Millersville (11-6-1)
Saturday, Nov. 5, 2011 – 6 p.m.
Chryst Field at Biemsderfer Stadium – Millersville, Pa.
All-Time Series vs. Bloom: 26-13-5
Widdowson Era vs. Bloom: 9-0
First Meeting: 1975 (BU 3, MU 1)
Last Meeting: 2011 (MU 2, BU 0)
Live Stats
Live Audio
Live Video
Purchase at Gate
Adults: $7
Visiting Students with Valid ID: $2
PSAC School Students with Valid ID: FREE
Millersville bounced back after a 1-2 week leading up to the PSAC Tournament by scoring four unanswered goals and dominating the field of play on Wednesday against No. 8 California (Pa.) in the PSAC Semifinals.
The Marauders dominated the Vulcans for the start of the match, outshooting them by a margin of 18-11 in regulation. Millersville put 12 shots on in the first half alone and had several scoring chance throughout the side.
Senior Aaron Roland knocked in the eventual game-winner in the 17th minutes on a long crossing pass sent in by sophomore Colby Zeger. In the closing minutes of the first half, sophomore Andrew Dukes extended the Millersville lead after receiving a through-pass from freshman Colby Klumpp to send him on a breakaway. Dukes eluded the Vulcan goalkeeper to make it 2-0 Marauders at the break.
A red card on Cal's Nemanja Visekruna in the 52nd minute gave Millersville a one-man advantage the rest of the way. The Marauders took advantage two minutes later on a set-piece from 25 yards out. Senior Eric Pepper struck the free kick to the left side of the goal into a crowd of players. Roland headed the ball over to junior Matt Kadoch who centered the ball to sophomore Ryan Rohrer to put Millersville ahead, 3-0.
Kadoch scored on of his own 14 minutes later to put the Marauders in cruise control to finish out the semifinal match. Freshman Christopher Davidson chipped a beautiful lead pass up to Kadoch in stride to go one-on-one with the Vulcans' goalkeeper. Kadoch knocked the ball right to slowly roll it into the goal for a 4-0 lead in favor of Millersville.

The Bloomsburg Huskies continued to live another day after surviving nine rounds of penalty kicks to defeat top-seeded Lock Haven Wednesday night. The Huskies, who slide into the PSAC Tournament in the final day with a win over East Stroudsburg, opened the scoring in the 24th minute when Nick Izzo sent a free kick from 30 yards out on goal. Izzo's kick found its way over the Bald Eagles' goalkeeper to give Bloomsburg a 1-0 lead.
The game remained 1-0 in favor of the Huskies until the 63rd minute when Lock Haven was awarded a penalty kick for a take down in the box. No card was given out. Greg Shertzer lined up at the penalty dot to take the kick for the Bald Eagles to try and tie the game at 1-1. Shertzer lined and fired the ball to beat Bloomsburg goalkeeper Bernie Roell for the tie.
Neither team scored before the end of regulation, sending the game into extra time. Lock Haven held a 16-4 shot advantage heading into the first overtime.
The teams combined for three shots, none on goal, in the first overtime to add a second ten minute period. Both teams failed to develop any scoring opportunities in the second overtime to force penalty kicks.
Lock Haven and Bloomsburg were even at 2-2 through two rounds of PKs before an attempt was missed. The Bald Eagles' Shertzer, who scored on a PK in regulation to tie the game, missed on his attempt in the third round. Shertzer was bailed out by Lock Haven's goalkeeper who made the save on Bloomsburg's next attempt to keep it even at 2-2 going to the fourth round.
The teams would stay even at 4-4 through five rounds of penalty kicks to force sudden death. It wasn't until the ninth round when Lock Haven's Matthew Coleman failed on his attempt to give Bloomsburg a chance to win. The Huskies' Anthony Manero, a sophomore defenseman with no PK attempts to date, fired a shot past the keeper to send Bloomsburg into the conference championship game for the first time since 1995.
The Marauders have had the Huskies' number since head coach Steve Widdowson took over. Millersville has won all nine meetings under Widdowson, including seven shutouts. The Huskies have not scored a goal against the Marauders since Nov. 1, 2008 when they scored in the 63rd minute of a Millersville 3-1 win. The Marauders have shutout Bloomsburg in five straight games, including this year's 2-0 win at Bloomsburg on Sept. 14.
In the last head-to-head matchup, the teams played an even match with Millersville holding a slight advantage in shots, 12-10. The Marauders found a goal in the 13th and 84th minutes to leave Bloomsburg with a 2-0 win. Both goalkeepers played well in the matchup with the Huskies' Bernie Roell making six saves and Millersville's Brad Benzing making five.
Millersville and Bloomsburg are both looking for its first-ever PSAC Championship. The Huskies are making their third-ever appearance in the game (1995, 1977), while the Marauders are making their third in four years and sixth all-time (1990, 1998, 2002, 2008 and 2009).
#20 Andrew Dukes, So., Forward, 16 points (7 goals, 2 assists)
#9 Aaron Roland, Sr., Forward, 16 points (5 goals, 6 assists)
#8 Matt Kadoch, Jr., Forward, 12 points (4 goals, 4 assists)
#19 Eric Pepper, Sr.,  Midfield, 12 points (3 goals, 6 assists)
#23 Pat Baffuto, Sr., Midfield, 10 points (5 goals, 0 assists)
#1 Brad Benzing, R-Fr., Goalkeeper, 11-6-1, 7 shutouts, 64 saves
#17 Bryce Shaffer, Jr., Forward, 17 points (8 goals, 1 assist)
#9 Fran Miller, So., Forward, 11 points (4 goals, 3 assists)
#3 Nate Conrad, Fr., Forward, 6 points (1 goal, 4 assists)
#23 Alex Ruhfass, Jr., Midfield, 5 points (2 goals, 1 assist)
#4 Nick Izzo, Fr., Midfield, 5 points (2 goals, 1 assist)
#1 Bernie Roell, So., Goalkeeper, 6-5-2, 4 shutouts, 100 saves

Advanced Soccer Media
    1. About Us
    2. Terms and Conditions
    3. Privacy Policy
    4. Advertise with Us
    5. Jobs
    6. Contact Us
    7. NCAA Compliance
    1. TopDrawerSoccer.com, 5855 Green Valley Circle, Ste. 303, Culver City, CA 90230
      © 2020 Advanced Sports Media, LLC. TeamRank™, Players to Watch™, and TopDrawerSoccer.com are trademarks Advanced Sports Media, LLC. All rights reserved.