Text size

No. 13 Mines Downs No. 17 UCCS, 1-0

Published: September 29, 2013

No. 13 Mines Hands No. 17 Mountain Lions 1-0 Overtime Loss

COLORADO SPRINGS – In a battle of women's soccer NSCAA top-25 unbeatens, No. 13 Colorado School of Mines defeated No. 17 UC-Colorado Springs 1-0 in overtime Sunday afternoon at Mountain Lion Field in Colorado Springs.

Playing its first RMAC road match, Mines (7-0-1, 4-0 RMAC) needed an additional 5:14 to keep its record unbeaten streak intact at 22 straight games with senior Anna Evans beating the keeper high with the unassisted golden goal, her second game-winner of the weekend.

Ranked third among active Division II career leaders in goals (44) and points (108), Evans leads the women with seven points and shares the team lead with three scores. The Arvada native is 12 points shy of matching former teammate Megan Woodworth (120; 2009-12) for second place all-time in the school record book.

Evans tallied five shots, all on frame, as the women directed 14 of 24 looks on goal, their third-highest shot on goal percentage of the season (.583).

Senior Jordan Hopper and freshman Cari Smith had two on-goal looks, while seniors Bree Archuleta and Kelsey Neal, sophomores Rachael Turner and Deirdre Johnson, and freshman Jaclyn Knott each had one.

The Orediggers yielded seven shots or fewer for the seventh straight contest, limiting UC-Colorado Springs (6-1, 3-1 RMAC) to a season-low seven tries and four shots on target, all stopped by sophomore keeper Jayln Yates who improved to 7-0-1 with her sixth shutout.

UCCS entered the week as the third-highest scoring offense in the RMAC and 31st nationally.

Mines is back in Golden on Friday, Oct. 4 for a 7 p.m. tilt with New Mexico Highlands (4-2-2, 2-2 RMAC) at CSM Soccer Stadium.

Advanced Soccer Media
    1. About Us
    2. Terms and Conditions
    3. Privacy Policy
    4. Advertise with Us
    5. Jobs
    6. Contact Us
    7. NCAA Compliance
    1. © 2021 Advanced Sports Media, LLC. TeamRank™, Players to Watch™, and TopDrawerSoccer.com are trademarks Advanced Sports Media, LLC. All rights reserved.