Text size

Schumacher, Egbom named to RMAC All-Tournament Team

Published: November 7, 2011

DENVER, Colo. — Sara Egbom and Nicole Schumacher were named to the Rocky Mountain Athletic Conference All-Tournament Team, RMAC Assistant Commissioner Sarah Meier announced yesterday.

Schumacher is a 5-foot-3 sophomore defender from Lewis Palmer High School in Monument, Colo. She’s started all 20 games for the No. 23 Skyhawks in 2011.

She ranks 50th in school history in total points (six) with two goals and two assists in 42 career games.

“I’m happy that Schumacher gets some recognition,” said fifth-year FLC head coach Damian Clarke. “I really felt that she’s one of the best, if not the best, right back in the conference.”

Egbom, a 5-foot-3 fifth-year senior midfielder from Hope Christian High School in Albuquerque, N.M., has won numerous awards during her career. Just last week she earned she earned All-RMAC accolades for the third time in her career. She was a first team selection in 2011 and 2007 — a year that saw her earn RMAC Freshman of the Year honors — and a second team pick in 2010. Additionally, as a junior in 2010 she was an All-Central Region performer (chosen to the Daktronics second team and the NSCAA third team) and a CoSIDA/ESPN Academic All-District VII second team pick. She is also a three-time RMAC All-Academic Award winner.

Egbom ranks among FLC’s career leaders in assists (third, 18), points (eighth, 43), goals (seventh, 10), and games played (ninth, 86).

“Eggie has honestly just been an absolute rock in the middle of the field for us,” said Clarke. “She scored a fantastic goal against Mines. She’s been the thread that’s held everything together.”

Egbom scored the equalizing goal with 9:58 remaining last Friday in a 1-1 RMAC semifinal draw against No. 9 Colorado Mines (15-2-3) at the Regis Match Pitch. The Skyhawks eventually lost a penalty kick shootout to the Orediggers. Mines won the RMAC women’s soccer postseason tournament yesterday with a 2-0 win over Colorado Mesa.

Penny Rogers of Colorado Mines was named the tournament’s Most Valuable Player. The complete RMAC All-Tournament team included:

  • Sara Egbom, Fort Lewis College
  • Nicole Schumacher, Fort Lewis College
  • Nicole Eddings, Regis University
  • Kelly Parkhurst, Colorado Mesa University
  • Danielle Hering, Colorado School of Mines
  • Sam Burneo, Colorado Mesa University
  • Megan Woodworth, Colorado School of Mines
  • Jessica Kent, Colorado Mesa University
  • Kelsey Neal, Colorado School of Mines
  • Sarah Schnetzler, Colorado Mesa University
  • Penny Rogers, MVP, Colorado School of Mines

Fort Lewis (14-2-4) finds out its NCAA Division II playoff fate at 5:30 p.m. (MST) today when the NCAA airs its selection show at www.ncaa.org.

Advanced Soccer Media
    1. About Us
    2. Terms and Conditions
    3. Privacy Policy
    4. Advertise with Us
    5. Jobs
    6. Contact Us
    7. NCAA Compliance
    1. © 2021 Advanced Sports Media, LLC. TeamRank™, Players to Watch™, and TopDrawerSoccer.com are trademarks Advanced Sports Media, LLC. All rights reserved.