Text size

Second FGCU Newcomer Wins Club Title

Published: July 12, 2016

FORT MYERS, Fla. – Title-winning club seasons have officially come to an end, but not before one final incoming FGCU women's soccer freshman helped put her side on top. With a pair of goals in the run-up to the ECNL U17 National Championship match, Megan Young helped the Michigan Hawks claim the crown before beginning her collegiate career.

Young scored twice in the playoffs to help the Hawks finish atop Group F with a 3-0-1 record. Her goal in the final group match against the Dallas Texans kept her side's undefeated record during the group stage.

From that point, the road for the Hawks required the Michigan club to go through the top-two qualifying teams from across the nation, SC Del Sol and De Anza Force.

With the chance to travel cross country to play for the national title, Young scored a goal opposite SC Del Sol, the winners of Group C and the top-qualifying team with 75 points, to send the Hawks through to the semifinals with a 2-0 win.

In Maryland, the Hawks defeated Slammers FC 2-1 before claiming a 1-0 extra time victory over De Anza Force a day later for the national championship.
During the regular season, Young scored five goals to help Michigan Hawks win the U17 ECNL Midwest Conference. The White Lake, Michigan native also added two assists to help her side finish the year with a 13-1-2 record.

Young joins an already dangerous attack, headlined by 2015 Atlantic Sun Player of the Year, Tabby Tindell (Ocala, Fla./Trinity Catholic HS). The Eagles begin the 2016 season in California against San Francisco and UC-Davis Aug. 19 and 21, respectively. FGCU opens its home schedule against 22-time national champions North Carolina on Aug. 26 at 7 p.m.

Advanced Soccer Media
    1. About Us
    2. Terms and Conditions
    3. Privacy Policy
    4. Advertise with Us
    5. Jobs
    6. Contact Us
    7. NCAA Compliance
    1. © 2021 Advanced Sports Media, LLC. TeamRank™, Players to Watch™, and TopDrawerSoccer.com are trademarks Advanced Sports Media, LLC. All rights reserved.