Text size

The early favorites for MAC Hermann Trophy

Article Written by J.R. Eskilson
Published: September 24, 2013

The last time a player repeated as the Hermann Trophy was 1996 when Mike Fisher from Virginia won for the second straight season. Fisher’s claim predates the combination of the award into the MAC Hermann Trophy, which came in 2002.

In an era with the rise of professional soccer in the United States, the possibility of a player sticking around for another collegiate season after claiming the award is slim. Yet, there is a chance this season.

Patrick Mullins of Maryland won the grand honor in 2012 and bypassed on offers from MLS to take another shot at winning the NCAA National Championship.

Mullins may have entered the season as the favorite, but after nearly a month of play, is he still at the top of the leaderboard?

To see the full article, please become a Premier Member. Want More Information? View Premier Benefits >>
Already premier?
Advanced Soccer Media
    1. About Us
    2. Terms and Conditions
    3. Privacy Policy
    4. Advertise with Us
    5. Jobs
    6. Contact Us
    7. NCAA Compliance
    1. © 2021 Advanced Sports Media, LLC. TeamRank™, Players to Watch™, and TopDrawerSoccer.com are trademarks Advanced Sports Media, LLC. All rights reserved.