Text size

HS: Lady Eagle Invitational Best XIs

Article Written by Sheldon Shealer
Published: September 7, 2017

ZIONSVILLE, Ind. -- Sixty players were nominated, but only 22 made the cut as the first- and second-team all-tournament selections at the Lady Eagle Invitational in Zionsville, Ind.

The all-tournament team was selected based on voting by participating coaches. Only three players were named on four coaches' ballots (meaning every coach in the group nominated that player) -- Katherine Soderstrom of Carmel (Ind.) and teammates Kristina Lynch and Brooke VanDyck of Penn (Mishawaka, Ind.). As the top vote-getter, Soderstrom was named MVP this year.

Players are listed by position, name, school, year, college commitment (if any).


F: Ashley Barron, Toledo Notre Dame (Ohio), Jr.
F: Maya Decker, Notre Dame Academy (Ky.), Jr.
F: Kristina Lynch, Penn (Ind.), Sr., Florida State
F: Ashlyn Morefield, Noblesville (Ind.), Jr.
MF: Hallie Pearson, Brebeuf Jesuit (Ind.), Sr., Arizona
MF: Ariella Pitty, Brunswick (Ohio), Jr., Ohio State
MF: Katherine Soderstrom, Carmel (Ind.), Sr.
MF: Brooke VanDyck, Penn (Ind.), Jr., Notre Dame
D: Lexa Bauer, Toledo Notre Dame (Ohio), Sr., Toledo
D: Elizabeth Hargis, Carmel (Ind.), Jr.
GK: Mackenzie Wood, Penn (Ind.), Sr., Northwestern

MVP: Katherine Soderstrom


F: Isabel Alexander, Evansville Memorial (Ind.), So.
F: Cassie Amshoff, Sacred Heart Academy (Ky.), Sr., Louisville
F: Kayla Fitts, Brebeuf Jesuit (Ind.), Sr.
F: Kelsie James, Carmel (Ind.), So.
MF: Ellie Clifford, Zionsville (Ind.), Sr.
MF: Carson Kwiatkowski, Indianapolis Cathedral (Ind.), So.
MF: Grace Lensing, Evansville Memorial (Ind.), Sr.
D: Madeline Grabowski, Brunswick (Ohio), So.
D: Saanika Kamat, Hamilton Southeastern (Ind.), Sr.
D: Emily Speidel, Carmel (Ind.), Jr.
GK: Skylin Yates, Simon Kenton (Ky.), Jr.


Indiana teams, despite representing only half of the tournament field, won every single group title. Each four-team group had a pair of Indiana programs and two out-of-state programs. In addition to Carmel and Penn tying for Group A title, Zionsville (Ind.) finished second in Group E on goal differential. 

A: Carmel (Ind.) and Penn (Ind.) - tied
B: Brebeuf Jesuit (Ind.)
C: Noblesville (Ind.)
D: Indianapolis Cathedral (Ind.)
E: Harrison (Ind.)

High School Rankings HQ
Advanced Soccer Media
    1. About Us
    2. Terms and Conditions
    3. Privacy Policy
    4. Advertise with Us
    5. Jobs
    6. Contact Us
    7. NCAA Compliance
    1. TopDrawerSoccer.com, 5855 Green Valley Circle, Ste. 303, Culver City, CA 90230
      © 2020 Advanced Sports Media, LLC. TeamRank™, Players to Watch™, and TopDrawerSoccer.com are trademarks Advanced Sports Media, LLC. All rights reserved.