2019 Women’s Division I Postseason Awards

2019 Women’s Division I Postseason Awards
by TopDrawerSoccer
December 16, 2019

The 2019 women’s Division I college season is over, with the Stanford Cardinal winning their second national championship in three seasons.

TopDrawerSoccer.com announces the 2019 Women’s Division I Postseason awards, with the champions well-represented – along with the Pac-12 as a whole.

For the second time in two seasons, Catarina Macario is the Player of the Year. Macario’s sensational season is well-documented, as she led a Stanford attack that scored 102 goals during 25 games. Macario tallied 32 goals and added 23 assists and was the runaway winner after putting together such a statistically dominating season.

Freshman of the Year goes to Angelina Anderson, who stepped into goal at California and led arguably the best turnaround from 2018. The U.S. youth national team veteran posted a 13-4-3 record, earning Pac-12 Goalkeeper and Freshman of the Year honors. She made 79 saves, securing nine shutouts, and most importantly, leading the Golden Bears to the NCAA tournament after the team went 5-12-2 a year ago. Anderson edged out talented standouts like Maycee Bell (North Carolina), Mia Fishel (UCLA) and Isabella D'Aquilla (Santa Clara).

The final individual accolade goes to Paul Ratcliffe, who earns the 2019 Coach of the Year. Ratcliffe figured out how to get the most of his high-flying attack, making the right tweaks at the right times to lead his team to a perfect record in the Pac-12 and the title-game triumph.

Below are this year’s awards as selected by the TopDrawerSoccer.com staff, with the entirety of the season taken into account for consideration.

2019 Women’s DI Women’s Postseason Awards

Player of the Year: Catarina Macario, Stanford

Freshman of the Year: Angelina Anderson, California

Coach of the Year: Paul Ratcliffe, Stanford

Best XI Teams

First Team

F: Evelyne Viens (South Florida), Ashley Sanchez (UCLA), Tara McKeown (USC)

M: Jessie Fleming (UCLA), Catarina Macario (Stanford), Mikayla Colohan (BYU), Deyna Castellanos (Florida State)

D: Emily Fox (North Carolina), Naomi Girma (Stanford), Kaleigh Riehl (Penn State)

GK: Amanda McGlynn (Virginia Tech)

Second Team

F: Elise Flake (BYU), Madison Haley (Stanford), Alessia Russo (North Carolina)

M: Tziarra King (NC State), Taryn Torres (Virginia), Sarah Stratigakis (Michigan), Sam Coffey (Penn State)

D: Grace Fisk (South Carolina), Haley VanFossen (Arkansas), Courtney Petersen (Virginia)

GK: Jordyn Bloomer (Wisconsin)

Third Team

F: Kirsten Davis (Texas Tech), Morgan Weaver (Washington State), Ally Watt (Texas A&M)

M: Emina Ekic (Louisville), Brianna Pinto (North Carolina), Lucy Porter (Hofstra), Taylor Kornieck (Colorado)

D: Camryn Biegalski (Wisconsin), Malia Berkely (Florida State), Addisyn Merrick (Kansas)

GK: Mikayla Krzeczowski (South Carolina

Freshman Best XI

First Team

F: Isabella D'Aquila (Santa Clara), Mia Fishel (UCLA), Anna Podojil (Arkansas)

M: Maya Doms (Stanford), Reyna Reyes (Alabama), Coriana Dyke (Penn State)

D: Natalia Staude (Virginia), Maycee Bell (North Carolina), D Anja Suttner (Hofstra), Macy Monticello (Wisconsin)

GK: Angelina Anderson (California)

Second Team

F: Diana Ordonez (Virginia), Brittany Raphino (Brown), Ally Schlegel (Penn State)

M: Jenna Nighswonger (Florida State), Ece Turkoglu (Old Dominion), M Mya Jones (Memphis)

D: Kaylin Martin (USC), Kennedy Wesley (Stanford), Megan Day (Cal State Fullerton), Julia Dorsey (North Carolina)

GK: Madison White (Texas Tech)

Trending Videos
IMG Top 150 Rankings
see full ranking:
Boys Girls

College Rankings HQ