Flyers Beat EIU 4-1

by University of Dayton Athletics Communication
September 9, 2012

DAYTON, Ohio - The University of Dayton men's soccer team (4-1) beat the Eastern Illinois Panthers (1-5) 4-1 at Baujan Field on Sunday. The Flyers were Co-Champions of the Dayton Marriott Classic, sharing the distinction with Missouri State.

"We were able to take our energy and put it into today's game," University of Dayton Head Coach Dennis Currier said.  "Offensively we had a great output today and it wa the difference in the game."

Junior Abe Keller was named the Co-MVP of the tournament. Graduate student Eddie Jones, junior John Howe and junior Andres Acevedo also earned spots on the all-tournament team.

Keller scored a goal and had two-assists for UD. Jones, Acevedo and senior Evan McCreary also found the back of the net for UD.

"Abe has great long range shooting and he has been solid for us this year," Currier said. "When he gets in that zone, he has the ability to putt the ball in the back of the net and make plays."

The Flyers had 22 shots on Sunday, with 14 finding their way on frame during the match. UD also held a significant advantage in corner kicks 7-1.

Eastern's Jordan Collins scored the first goal of the match on a header off of Jake Irwin's free kick in the 13th minute.

Dayton countered quickly with a header by McCreary in the 20th minute. Keller assisted on the goal, crossing it into the box to McCreary.

UD took a 2-1 lead less than four minutes later as Keller squeezed the ball through on a long kick to junior Andres Acevedo, who finished it far post.

The Flyers extended their margin to two after Keller unloaded a shot that found the left upper 90 for the 3-1 lead early in the second half.

Eddie Jones scored opposite post in the 71st minute to put UD ahead 4-1. Senior Daniel Berko had the assist.

Dayton continues its four-game home stand when they host Gardner-Webb on Friday, Sept. 14 at 5:30 p.m. and IPFW on Sunday, Sept. 16

2012 Dayton Marriott Classic All-Tournament Team
Co-MVP, James Fawke, Mo. St.
Co-MVP, Abe Keller, UD
Jared Gain, Mo. St.
Cole Alexander, Mo. St.
Ben Griffiths, Mo. St.
Eddie Jones, UD
John Howe, UD
Andres Acevedo, UD

Defrim Ramushevski, GB
Billy Donovan, GB
Ian McCausland, EIU
Jordan Collins, EIU

Trending Videos
IMG Top 150 Rankings
see full ranking:
Boys Girls

College Rankings HQ