2022 Men’s Division I Postseason Awards

2022 Men’s Division I Postseason Awards
by TopDrawerSoccer
December 21, 2022

The end of the 2022 Men’s Division I season saw the Syracuse Orange finish on top.

The ACC side defeated Indiana in a penalty shootout at last week’s College Cup, the final kick of the season. Syracuse’s triumph was powered by forwards Nathan Opoku and Levonte Johnson; both feature prominently in the TDS Postseason Best XI teams. Head coach Ian McIntyre deservedly earns the Coach of the Year nod.

Another College Cup participant, Duncan McGuire, is the TDS Player of the Year. The scintillating striker powered Creighton’s run to Cary. Down the stretch, his goals were crucial to the Bluejays, as he scored 14 goals in 12 games, as Creighton won the Big East Tournament and made it to the national semifinal. Five of his goals were game winners, and he finished the year with 23 goals in 24 games. McGuire edged out the talented Duke maestro Peter Stroud and UNC Greensboro’s JC Ngando to win the award.

Recently signed to MLS via the Generation adidas program, CJ Fodrey is the 2022 Freshman of the Year. The left-footed winger edged out a talented field that included Palmer Ault (Butler), Jack Panayotou (Georgetown), Kenny Hot and Kam Acito (Duke). Fodrey scored seven goals and had four assists, earning the Pac-12 Freshman of the Year award.

Check out the full awards from the men’s DI season below.

TopDrawerSoccer Postseason Awards

Player of the Year: Duncan McGuire, Creighton

Freshman of the Year: CJ Fodrey, San Diego State

Coach of the Year: Ian McIntyre, Syracuse

Postseason Best XI

First Team

F: Duncan McGuire (Creighton), Levonte Johnson (Syracuse), Shak Mohammed (Duke)

M: Peter Stroud (Duke), JC Ngando (UNC Greensboro), Christian Soto (Washington), Alex Nagy (Vermont)

D: Daniel Nimick (Western Michigan), Daniel Munie (Indiana), Noah Gulden (Lipscomb)

GK: Cole Jensen (Xavier)

Second Team

F: Stephen Afrifa (Florida International), Ilijah Paul (Washington), Nathan Opoku (Syracuse)

M: Joran Gerbet (Oregon State), Knut Ahlander (SMU), Laurence Wootton (Ohio State), Dyson Clapier (Akron)

D: Keegan Hughes (Stanford), Luis Grassow (Kentucky), Moise Bombito (New Hampshire)

GK: Holden Trent (High Point)

Third Team

F: Matthew Myers (Rutgers), Tyrese Spicer (Lipscomb), Bertin Jacquesson (Pittsburgh)

M: Lucas Meek (Washington), Yannick Bright (New Hampshire), Eliot Goldthorp (Hofstra), Ryan Wittenbrink (Indiana)

D: Leo Burney (Penn), Delentz Pierre (Portland), Daniel Wu (Georgetown)

GK: Eliot Hamill (Duke)

Freshman Best XI

First Team

F: CJ Fodrey (San Diego State), Palmer Ault (Butler), Matthew Bell (Marshall)

M: Kenan Hot (Duke), Jack Panayotou (Georgetown), Basit Umar (Dayton), Jefferson Amaya (High Point)

D: Kamran Acito (Duke), Dylan Kropp (Xavier), Jackson Gilman (Pittsburgh)

GK: Casper Mols (Kentucky)

Second Team

F: Clarence Awoudor (Oregon State), Malachi Jones (Lipscomb), Denis Krioutchenkov (Davidson)

M: Alexander Petraeus (SMU) Nicholas Fernandez (Portland), Ask Ekeland (Duquesne), Shane de Flores (Stanford)

D: Max Floriani (Saint Louis), Max Miller (Kentucky), Jake Shannon (UNC Wilmington)

GK: Isaac Nehme (Denver)

Trending Videos
IMG Top 150 Rankings
see full ranking:
Boys Girls

College Rankings HQ