Text size

Conference tournament champions crowned

Article Written by Travis Clark
Published: November 16, 2015

The ACC is Orange

Despite losing a slew of talents from last season's squad, Syracuse got the job done in the ACC tournament over the weekend. Traveling to South Bend for the ACC Championship, the Orange produced another tight defensive effort, blanking the Irish and limiting them to just two shots on goal.

Ben Polk's goal in the 46th minute -- his third in the past two games -- stood up for the rest of the second half, as Syracuse clinched its first coneference tournament title since 1985.

Hoyas top Creighton again

Meeting for the second time in 10 days, it was another tight matchup between Big East powers Georgetown and Creighton. Riding a 12-game winning streak heading into Sunday's encounter, first half goals from Timo Pitter and the Hoyas' Brandon Allen canceled each other out, eventually setting the stage for overtime.

Digging deep, Georgetown found a way to win for the 13th straight game. Alex Muyl's tight angle golden goal finish kicked off celebrations on the Hilltop, as the Hoyas completed the Big East double, winning the first conference tournament title in program history.

Four in a row for the Terps

Advancing to the title game thanks to Dakota Niedermeir's heroics on penalty kicks Friday night, Maryland made it four straight conference tournament crowns in a row, knocking off top seed Ohio State 2-0 in Columbus. Former D.C. United Academy forward and current freshman Eryk Williamson played the role of the hero, scoring the opening goal in the 10th minute and setting up Tsubasa Endoh's clinching goal in the 88th minute.

Dating back to its time in the ACC, Maryland won a conference tournament for the fourth season running.

Zips hold off Buffalo

Junior midfielder Victor Souto's strike just before halftime proved to be all the scoring Akron needed, as the hosts managed to hold off the challenge of Buffalo to secure the Mid-American Conference tournament title.

Automatic bid conference winners

American Athletic: Tulsa

America East: Vermont

Atlantic 10: Dayton

Atlantic Sun: North Florida

Big South: Winthrop

Big West: Cal State Fullerton

CAA: Hofstra

Conference USA: Florida International

Horizon League: Oakland

Ivy League: Dartmouth

MAAC: Rider

MVC: Drake

Northeast: LIU Brooklyn(m)

Pac-12: Stanford

Patriot: Lehigh

Southern: Furman

Summit League: Denver

Sun Belt: Hartwick

Western Athletic: Seattle

West Coast Conference: Santa Clara

Advanced Soccer Media
    1. About Us
    2. Terms and Conditions
    3. Privacy Policy
    4. Advertise with Us
    5. Jobs
    6. Contact Us
    7. NCAA Compliance
    1. © 2021 Advanced Sports Media, LLC. TeamRank™, Players to Watch™, and TopDrawerSoccer.com are trademarks Advanced Sports Media, LLC. All rights reserved.